AAI Report on Inter Clubs League

Abbey Athletic Club from Newtownabbey won the premier Division Trophy for the first time with an excellent team performance. Building on their five individual wins with some very consistent scoring they had ten points to spare on DSD with
St.Laueence O’Toole having their best ever performance in third spot. Leigh Whiteside won the 100,Michelle Rodgers the 400,Caoimhe Vallely the Hammer,Laura Kerr Javelin and Claire Wilkinson the High Jump to provide maximum points for Abbey as they became club champions quite a achievement for a newly promoted team. Other interesting winners in the womens premier division included Renata Katewitz winning discus throw of 47.43 for St. Laurence O’Toole.

Crusaders regained the mens premier title with five points to spare on North
Down with Clonliffe Harriers in third place. Crusaders won both hurdles races Antoine Burke the 400 in 55.13 and Ian McDonald the 110 in 14.8. Utilizing Peter Coghlan in the 100 and 200 where he gained valuable points in third spot in both races. Stephen Fleming won the Triple Jump for the Ringsend based club with Leo Carpenter taking the hammer.
North Down utilized U.K. international Decathlete Brendan McConville over a number of events including the Pole Vault where he had an interesting competition with Ruairi O’Brian and the young Clonliffe man Anthony McCreary who won on countback with 4.60.
David McCarthy won the 400 in 47.15, the 200 in 21.6 having started with a second place in the long jump with a creditable 6.48. Finishing off with a second leg in the 400 where he brought Kildare from last to the lead epitomising all that’s best in 400 metres relay running.

The womens first division title went to Bandon who had ten points to spare on An Riocht with Wexford in third spot. Marian Andrews had a 100/200 sprint double for the West Cork club and Collette Tuthill won the 1500 walk .They scored well in most other events. Riocht scored four individual wins with young Laura Crowe winning the 400 and 800 and the experienced Maura Prenderville the 1500 and 3000. With laura and Maura contributing 400 relay legs as well.

Tipperary won the mens first division title with six points to spare on Abbey and City of Derry third. Gary Ryan recording a sprint double for Tipperary in the 100 and 200 as well as relay legs.Sandis Bralitis gained maximum points in the 3000 steeplechase with a front running performance.
Robert Heffernan put the disappointment of his Helsinki disqualification behind him with a fine 3000 metres walk win in 11.27.6. Just marginally outside the record.

Abbey Athletic Club was formed at the start of the new millennium by a group of relatively young athletes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *