Joe Seeley 10k

Annadale’s Paddy Hamilton won his first NI 10k road championship. He broke away from defending champion, Paul Rowan, in the late stages of the race to win in 30.40. James Connor, guesting in the Annadale colours, finished third. Annadale’s stranglehold on the team prize was broken as Willowfield packed 6 in the top 18 to become champions.

Abbey AC had 8 competitors. Simon Taylor was 12th, Andrew Agnew was 25th in his first 10k and Simon Murray and Shaun Chamberlain both recorded PBs in finishing 29th and 30th respectively. If it were not for work and family committments, Turlough and Damien surely would have joined these four in securing Abbey AC’s first senior men’s medal at these championships.

Paul McMullan continued his transition to an 800m man in finishing 89th, Greg McClure set a new PB (37.35) in 92nd and Andrew McMurray wasn’t far behind in 96th. Nicola McCaughey was Abbey’s only female competitor, recording a time of 43.15.

Abbey Athletic Club was formed at the start of the new millennium by a group of relatively young athletes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.